Incoming Exchange Students

Founded in 1871 as a land-grant institution, the University of Arkansas is home to more than 26,000 students, from all 50 states and 120+ countries. Our picturesque campus is located in Fayetteville, routinely considered among the country’s finest college towns, and the surrounding Northwest Arkansas region is regularly ranked one of the best places to live in the U.S. Some of the nation’s most spectacular hiking trails are within a short drive of campus.


Students are selected and nominated by our partner universities. Once nominated, a student will receive access to the online student portal, where they will complete their application and be provided with more specific information about housing, course selection, arrival plans, estimated costs, etc. 

Application Process

  1. 1. University Nomination:

    The designated exchange coordinator from each of our partner universities will be asked to nominate students by email. Please provide the following information when submitting a nomination:

    • Nominated Student's Full Legal Name
    • Nominated Student's Email Address
    • Nominated Students' Date of Birth and Gender
    • Level of Education and Field of Study
    • Length of Stay at U of A
    • English Language Proficiency Measure
  2. 2. Student Application:

    After we have received the required information through the nomination form, students will be contacted to start the online application process.

    Each student must submit a scan of his/her passport or national ID card (if passport is in processing) and then an application will be created for the student within our online system. Students will be notified and instructed on how to log into the system to complete requirements before the deadline.

    All documents for the application process must be uploaded (as electronic files) through the online system before the student can be admitted in the main U of A admissions system. Original documents or hard copy applications will NOT be accepted, as our application process is conducted completely online.

Partner Institutions

The University of Arkansas is pleased to host inbound exchange students nominated from the following partner institutions:

  1. Australia

    • University of Newcastle
    • University of Western Sydney
    • University of Technology, Sydney
  2. Austria

    • Karl-Franzens Universitaet
  3. Belgium

    • Universiteit Gent
  4. Denmark

    • Aarhus University
  5. England

    • University of Essex
    • University of Sussex
  6. France

    • Institut Polytechnique Le Salle Beauvais
    • NEOMA Management School, Reims
    • Université du Maine
  7. Germany

    • Regensburg Universitaet
    • Technical University of Darmstadt
    • WHU Otto Beisheim School of Management
  8. Hong Kong

    • City University of Hong Kong
  9. India

    • Fortune Institute of International Business
  10. Japan

    • Kansai Gaidai University
    • Kanto Gakuin University
    • Shimane University
  11. Spain

    • Universidad Carlos III de Madrid
    • Universidad Antonio de Nebrija
  12. South Korea

    • Soonchunhyang University
  13. Sweden

    • Jönköping University



Fall Semester and Academic Year
Nomination deadline: March 15
Application deadline: April 15

Spring Semester
Nomination deadline: September 15
Application deadline: October 15


Brian Poepsel

Additional Resources